The Bath Novel Award 2019

“The Bath Novel Award is special for many reasons and of all the awards running in the UK, I think this stands out for its excellence, as well as the wonderful support the writers get during and after each award.”

Abi Darè, Winner of the Bath Novel Award 2018


The Bath Novel Award logo

The Bath Novel Award is our £2,500 prize for novels written for adults or young adults

2019 judge: to be announced 5th December 2018

Key dates: entries open 5th December 2018 with submissions invited until 2nd June 2019

Submissions: first 5,000 words plus synopsis 

Eligibility: writers should be yet to accept a traditional publishing deal. Novels may be unpublished, self-published or independently published.

Full award terms and conditions: click here 

Shortlist prize: literary agent introductions and manuscript feedback 

IuxouSm3_400x400Longlist prize: The writer of the most promising longlisted novel will receive a place on Learn to Edit Your Novel the Professional Way – an 18 week online course  from Cornerstones Literary Consultancy 

Entry fee: £25 per novel, with sponsored places available for writers on low incomes

Online entry form: click here 

Literary agent Felicity Blunt congratulates 2018 winner Abi Dare
READ: Bath Novel Award 2018 winner Abi Darè signs with Felicity Blunt at Curtis Brown
sophie squared
READ: 2017 winner Sophie Draper on choosing between 5 agents