The Bath Novel Award 2020

The Bath Novel Award is an international prize for emerging novelists writing for adults or young adults.



Kate Simants (2019) for The Knocks (Viper Books 2020)

Abi Darè (2018) for The Girl with the Louding Voice (Hodder & Stoughton 2020)

Sophie Draper (2017) for Cuckoo (Avon Books 2018)

Kim Sherwood (2016) for Testament (riverrun 2018)

Clarissa Goenawan (2015) for Rainbirds (Soho Press 2017)

Joanna Barnard (2014) for Precocious (Ebury Press 2015)


In the current uncertain situation, we want to take the opportunity to reassure you that 2020’s novel awards are continuing to run as normal.

Closing date: 31 May 2020

Prize: £3,000

Judge: Jenny Savill, Director at Andrew Nurnberg Associates international literary agency

Eligibility: unpublished, self-published and independently published writers worldwide. Full terms & eligibility

Shortlist prize: manuscript feedback and literary agent introductions

Longlist prize: the writer of the most promising longlisted manuscript will receive an online place worth £1,800 on Edit Your Novel the Professional Way from Cornerstones Literary Consultancy

Submissions: first 5,000 words plus one page synopsis of novel manuscripts in any genre

Entry fee: £28 with sponsored places available for writers on low income

Enter button

INTERVIEW: 2019 winner Kate Simants 


INTERVIEW: 2019 Children’s Novel winner Matthew Fox