Announcing the Bath Novel Award 2021 Longlist

Established in 2013, the Bath Novel Award is an international prize for emerging novelists writing for adults and young adults.

We are delighted to announce 2021’s longlist.

With 2,084 manuscripts submitted between 1st December 2020 and 31st May, 2021 has proved our most competitive year to date. Novels were submitted from writers in 52 countries and longlistees are based in Australia, Norway, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, the UK and USA. This year’s list is 31 novels strong and includes commerical, crime, dystopian, fantasy, historical, horror, literary, psychological thrillers, thrillers, uplit as well as YA manuscripts.

As submissions are read “blind” we’ll be keeping author names under wraps until 2021 judge, Julia Silk of Charlie Campbell Literary Agents announces the winning novel in September. The shortlist will be announced at noon BST on July 31st.

In the meantime, many congratulations to the writers of these 31 standout titles:

Another Kind of Life
Call Me Suzy
Change is a Coming
Don't Call Us Dreamers
Everything is Uneven
Ghost Time
Here Lies Guido Perkins
It's Not Like This in Teen Movies
Meet Me At The Surface
Something of a Hoax
Stolen Threads
The Bath Circulating Library Society
The Confinement of Ada Atwood
The Covent Garden Mermaids
The Killing Tide
The Last Girl in Skegness
The Ledger of Abandoned Stories
The Norfolk House
The Pool
The Secret Collector of Bartholomew Row
Touching Doctor Simone
We Across The Shining Sea
Wild Garlic
Wonder Ocean
You Can't Be Both

The Bath Novel Award 2021 is sponsored by 

Collage of covers of Bath Novel Award winning novels


2020 ANDREW J KING for The Arrow Garden 

2019 KATE SIMANTS for A Ruined Girl (Viper Books 2020)

2018 ABI DARÉ for The Girl with the Louding Voice (Hodder & Stoughton 2020)

2017 SOPHIE DRAPER for Cuckoo (Avon Books 2018)

2016 KIM SHERWOOD for Testament (riverrun 2018)

2015 CLARISSA GOENAWAN for Rainbirds (Soho Press 2017)

2014 JOANNA BARNARD for Precocious (Ebury Press 2015)