Bath Children's Novel Award 2018

The Bath Children’s Novel Award is an international prize for novels written for children or young adults

cover for The Hurting by Lucy Van Smit, winner of the inaugural Bath Children's Novel AwardRecipients include Lucy Van Smit with the manuscript for The Hurting (published this year by Chickenhouse) and Struan Murray, who signed a six figure deal with Penguin Random House Children’s for last year’s winning manuscript, Orphans of the Tide which is to be published in 2020.

2018 prize: £2,500



2018 judge: literary agent Hilary Delamere of The Agency will pick the winning novel from a shortlist chosen by a team of Junior Judges aged from 7 to 17 years

Submissions: first 5,000 words plus one page synopsis of novels. Novels may be in any genre

Eligibility: open worldwide to unpublished and independently published novelists

Shortlist prize: literary agent introductions and manuscript feedback from our Junior Judges


Longlist prize: the writer of the most promising longlisted novel will receive an online place worth £1,800 on Learn to Edit Your Novel the Professional Way  sponsored by Cornerstones Literary Consultancy

Entry fee: £25 per novel with sponsored entries available for low income writers

Full award terms here

The Bath Children’s Novel Award 2018


Literary agent Hilary Delamere with clients' book

We are delighted to welcome leading children’s literary agent Hilary Delamere as this year’s judge. Hilary is a partner at The Agency where her list includes national treasures such as Michael Bond and Malorie Blackman alongside rising stars like Bath shortlisted Sophie Green.

READ: Hilary Delamere’s submission tips and interview

Penguin Random House Children's Logo

BOOK DEAL NEWS: Penguin Random House sign Struan Murray’s Bath Children’s Novel Award winning novel in six figure deal 

Bath Children's Novel Award 2017 winner Struan Murray“One of the most rewarding things about the whole competition was getting my novel into the hands of the Junior Judges – its intended age-range.” 

INTERVIEW: Bath Children’s Novel Award 2017 winner Struan Murray

The Hurting by Lucy Van Smit, winner of the inaugural Bath Children's Novel Award