The Bath Children’s Novel Award is an annual international prize for emerging novelists writing for children or teens. Submissions are invited June to November.

The Bath Children’s Novel Award 2020 WINNER’S ANNOUNCEMENT

The Bath Children’s Novel Award 2020 SHORTLIST ANNOUNCEMENT

The Bath Children’s Novel Award 2020 LONGLIST ANNOUNCEMENT

Judge: Stephanie Thwaites of Curtis Brown literary agency from a shortlist chosen by Junior Judges aged seven to seventeen

Prize: £3,000

Eligibility: unpublished, self-published and independently published writers worldwide

Shortlist prize: manuscript feedback from the Junior Judges plus literary agent introductions

Longlist prize: for the writer of the most promising longlisted manuscript, the online course Edit Your Novel the Professional Way (worth £1,800) from Cornerstones Literary Consultancy

Submissions: first 5,000 words plus 300 word synopsis

Entry fee: £28 with sponsored places available for writers on low income

Full competition terms here

Bath Children’s Novel Award Recipients:

Matthew Fox (2019) for The Sky Over Rebecca 

Cassie Powney (2018) for Loops

Struan Murray (2017) for Orphans of the Tide 

Gareth Osborne (2016) for Cogs of Castille

Lucy Van Smit (2015) for The Hurting