The Bath Novel Award 2020

Collage of covers of Bath Novel Award winning novels

The Bath Novel Award is an annual international prize for emerging novelists 



Andrew J King (2020) for The Arrow Garden 

Kate Simants (2019) for A Ruined Girl (Viper Books 2020)

Abi Darè (2018) for The Girl with the Louding Voice (Hodder & Stoughton 2020)

Sophie Draper (2017) for Cuckoo (Avon Books 2018)

Kim Sherwood (2016) for Testament (riverrun 2018)

Clarissa Goenawan (2015) for Rainbirds (Soho Press 2017)

Joanna Barnard (2014) for Precocious (Ebury Press 2015)


Prize: £3,000 

Judge: Jenny Savill, Director at Andrew Nurnberg Associates international literary agency

Longlist announcement: here

Shortlist announcement: here

Winner’s announcement: here

Eligibility: unpublished, self-published and independently published writers worldwide Full terms here

Shortlist prize: manuscript feedback and literary agent introductions

Longlist prize: the writer of the most promising longlisted manuscript will receive an online place worth £1,800 on Edit Your Novel the Professional Way from Cornerstones Literary Consultancy

Submissions: first 5,000 words plus one page synopsis of novels for adults or young adults

Entry fee: £28 with sponsored places available for writers on low income


INTERVIEW: 2019 winner Kate Simants


INTERVIEW: 2019 Children’s Novel winner Matthew Fox