Announcing the Bath Novel Award 2022 Longlist

We are delighted to announce the Bath Novel Award 2022 longlist.

Established in 2013, the Bath Novel Award is an international prize for emerging novelists writing for adults and / or young adults.

1,965 novel extracts and synopses were submitted between 1st December 2021 and 31st May 2022 and we were delighted by the standard.

Manuscripts were submitted from writers in 66 countries and this year’s longlistees are based in Australia, Japan, Norway, the UK and USA. 2022’s longlist is 28 novels strong and includes comedy, commerical, crime, fantasy, historical, literary, mystery, romance, speculative, uplit and YA.

The full manuscripts of these 28 novels will be read during July and a shortlist announced at noon BST on July 31st.

As submissions are read “blind” we’ll be keeping author names under wraps until the winner novel, as chosen by 2022 judge, Nelle Andrew is announced in September.

In the meantime, many congratulations to the writers of these 28 standout titles:

The Bath Novel Award 2022 Longlist
All the Birds of the Air
All Those Other Lives
Almost Strangers
Angels and Blackbirds
As Soft as Dreams
Belle Nash and the Bath Soufflé
Change is a Coming
Child Bred of Light
Eliza is Dead
Lullaby for the Left Behind
Past Participle
Ring of Lions
Small Town Malice
Smoke and Honey
Something of a Hoax
The Confinement of Ada Atwood
The Cuckoo and the Playing Piece
The Last Gift of Emmeline Davies
The Left Behind
The Locksmith's Table
The Lost Detective
The Secret Collector of Bartholomew Row
The Secret Deed of Henry Thistlethwaite
The Taste of Strawberries
The Three Arrows
The Woman Who Fought Demons and Walked with Angels
We Are Wolves

Covers of published Bath Novel Awards winning and listed manuscripts

Bath Novel Award Recipients

2021 ABHISHEK PRASAD for Ghost Time (Greyhound Literary Agency 2021)

2020 ANDREW J KING for The Arrow Garden (Aderyn Press 2023)

2019 KATE SIMANTS for A Ruined Girl (Viper Books 2020)

2018 ABI DARÉ for The Girl with the Louding Voice (Hodder & Stoughton 2020)

2017 SOPHIE DRAPER for Cuckoo (Avon Books 2018)

2016 KIM SHERWOOD for Testament (Riverrun 2018)

2015 CLARISSA GOENAWAN for Rainbirds (Soho Press 2017)

2014 JOANNA BARNARD for Precocious (Ebury Press 2015)

The Bath Novel Award 2022 is sponsored by Cornerstones Literary Consultancy and Professional  Writing Academy